URBAN & COMMUNITY FORESTRY

  •  

     + Tree City USA / Tree Campus USA / Tree Line USA

    • Tree City USA is an elite designation for communities that meet minimum standards set by the Arbor Day Foundation for community forestry programs. Texas A&M Forest Service foresters help leaders qualify for, apply and maintain the distinction.
    • Tree Campus USA recognizes excellence in campus tree care as well as student engagement in tree-related projects within the surrounding community. 
    • Tree Line USA recognizes best practices in public and private utility arboriculture, while emphasizing the value trees have in conserving energy.

    All three in one community is a trifecta of Trees USA and shows a collaborative effort in enhancing the forest where we live, work, and play.

     LOGO FOR TREE CITY USA PROGRAM.  GREEN AND BLUE CONCENTRIC CIRCLES WITH A GREEN OUTLINE OF A TREE INSIDE

     

    LOGO FOR TREE CAMPUS USA PROGRAM.  LIGHT GREEN RECTANGLE WITH A SOLID WHITE TREE INSIDE.

     

    LOGO FOR TREE LINE USA PROGRAM.  GREEN OUTLINES OF FOUR TREES STANDING IN A ROW BELOW A SOLID GREEN LINE.

     

     + Community Forest Program Grant Application

    The Community Forest and Open Space Conservation Program (Community Forest Program) protects forests that are important for people and the places they call home. The CFP program is a USFS grant program open to local governments, qualified nonprofit organizations and Indian Tribes to conserve forest lands that provide community benefits and public access.

    Logo for Community Forest Program

       + Urban Forestry Regional Offices

       MAP OF TEXAS COUNTIES DIVIDED INTO REGIONS

       

      Panhandle (1)
      Amarillo - Brian Scott
      806-651-3477
      bscott@tfs.tamu.edu



      Rolling Plains (2)
      Alpine - Mickey Merritt
      432-837-3000
      mmerritt@tfs.tamu.edu



      Cross Timbers (3)
      Fort Worth - Courtney Blevins
      817-926-8203
      cblevins@tfs.tamu.edu



      Trinity-Blacklands (4)
      Dallas - Richard Leon
      972-952-9242
      rleon@tfs.tamu.edu



      East Texas (5 & 6)
      Carthage - Zaina Gates
      903-657-0511
      zgates@tfs.tamu.edu



      Bayou (7)
      Houston - Matt Weaver
      713-688-8932
      mweaver@tfs.tamu.edu



      Central Texas (8)
      Austin - Brad Hamel
      512-339-4618
      bhamel@tfs.tamu.edu



      South Texas (9)
      Kingsville - Bill Green
      956-969-5654
      bgreen@tfs.tamu.edu



      Alamo (10)
      San Antonio - Mark Kroeze
      210-494-4771
      mkroeze@tfs.tamu.edu



      West Texas (11)
      Alpine - Mickey Merritt
      432-837-3000
      mmerritt@tfs.tamu.edu